Author Topic: what would you do??  (Read 1003 times)

Offline rober

• Gold Member
what would you do??
« on: May 26, 2017, 05:58:35 pm »
I got a hive out of a fallen tree last sunday. while removing comb I found the queen, put her in a clip, & put her in the hive when I got them home. when I removed this hive there was not a single cell of brood. none. since being hived she still has not laid any eggs.
I have a split that absconded & left behind a new unreleased queen. since the one queen is not laying & this caged queen needs to be dealt with asap i'm considering snuffing the queen from the tree & installing the caged queen. I am not trying to rush anything but since there was no brood in the tree it looks like this queen from the tree is a dud.

Offline Perry

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
    • Brandt's Bees
Re: what would you do??
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 07:57:13 pm »
I wonder if the colony in the tree was being led by a virgin after it swarmed? It could explain the lack of eggs if she has not mated yet.
On the other hand, if you have a good mated queen, I think I would add her to that colony after removing the tree queen and a couple of frames of bees and nuc them just to see if she might yet lay eggs.
"It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor."      
Forum Supporter

Offline rober

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 07:58:40 am »
I do not know the hive's history. it was one of several I removed from fallen trees after a storm. i'd come to the same conclusion as you. i'll put the non layer in a cage & hold over over a queen excluder over a hive until I have time to go to my outyard & make a split. none of the hives here at the house can spare any bees just now. a hive I vacuumed out of a fireplace vent has a queen that is an egg laying machine.

Offline brooksbeefarm

• Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2017, 12:54:06 pm »