Author Topic: New Hives? Medium Vs Deep advise please  (Read 2824 times)

Offline Salmo

New Hives? Medium Vs Deep advise please
« on: January 26, 2017, 11:23:42 am »
Good day everyone,

I've been researching and picking peoples bee brains for a few months now, in preparation for setting up hives this year(first timer).  I'm about to start building the boxes, but I am a little torn between a mixture of deep and mediums Vs all medium boxes, which about 50% of keepers (that I spoke with) recommend.    I was settled on a mixture of deep and mediums, but when I started sourcing lumber, I was having a hard time finding lumber wide enough without warping or free of enough knots to make it worth while.  The lumber available for medium boxes is much better and more readily available.  I tried some local lumber yards already for the deep boxes, but most don't have anything suitable at this time.

To the question, would there be anything wrong or regrettable that I could not recover from if I went with only mediums for the entire hive,  brood and honey?

Thanks Randall

Offline Perry

• Global Moderator
  • Gold Member
    • Brandt's Bees
Re: New Hives? Medium Vs Deep advise please
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2017, 11:30:37 am »
More money and perhaps more time.
1 = More money in that you will need 3 mediums to take the place of 2 deeps in regards to brood chambers. That means an additional 10 frames with foundation.
2 - Time wise, you could possibly have to go through 30 frames instead of 20 when looking for the queen (usually not necessary), and each manipulation has its risk.
Levy's mill in Gaspereau (Wolfville) sells 9 3/4" x 7/8" pine for 54 cents a foot.
"It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor."      
Forum Supporter

Offline Salmo

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2017, 05:39:09 pm »