Author Topic: Beer Basted Roasted Chicken with Honey  (Read 4821 times)

Offline riverbee

• Gold Member
  • ***Forum Sponsor***
Beer Basted Roasted Chicken with Honey
« on: November 25, 2014, 12:01:58 am »
it's snowy and cold, i don't use the oven too often, i will grill all the way through winter, but this roasted chicken recipe is really good.  you can use drumsticks or drumsticks and thighs.  beer......no light beer, get a dark beer, this really adds to the flavor. one of our favorites is from the rush river brewery, and it has a hint of a honey taste to it.  one other comment, marinade the chicken overnight if you can, or whip it up in the morning, and let it marinate all day.  the longer it marinates, the better the flavor and tender.  i tend to add a little smoky kick flavor to it sometimes:
basic recipe:
(btw, i am not very good at measuring ingredients, i just dump/sprinkle it in......... :D

Ingredients
   • 8 chicken drumsticks, or preferred cut of chicken
   • Salt and pepper, to taste  (we use chicago steak seasoning)
   • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
   • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
        a little onion powder
   • 1 dark beer
   • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
   • 1/2 cup honey
   • Fresh cilantro, diced (dried works too)

Directions:
   • First place the chicken in a container with the cumin, garlic, salt, pepper and half of the beer. Then refrigerate for at least three hours before cooking. i flip the chicken over occasionally while the chicken is marinating.
   • When ready, heat the oven to 400°F to 425 F. Remove the chicken from the container,  and roast for 25 minutes in a glass pan or longer. i also flip the chicken as it is roasting 1/2 way through. i will also throw a little cilantro on it.  in a bowl, combine the honey, melted butter and remaining beer.
   • After 25 minutes have passed, brush the chicken with the honey glaze.